Young Scientists Research Pitch Competition (Call for Submissions)

The Early Career Scientist Section of the International Union of Food Science and Technology and International Academy of Food Science and Technology (IUFoST/IAFoST-ECSS) is accepting abstract submissions for the **Young Scientists Research Pitch Competition** as a part of our first international symposium with the theme:

Food Innovations for the Sustainable Development Goals

The aim of the symposium is to share the exciting research accomplishments of early career and young scientists as well as foster important discussions on the contributions of food science innovations in meeting the Zero Hunger and other relevant SDGs.

We invite young scientists (<u>PhD students only</u>) around the world to submit an abstract (250 words) on your innovative research findings under one of the following sub-themes:

- i) Processing for food preservation
- ii) Nutritional & health enhancements
- iii) Food packaging
- iv) Efficient resource use

The symposium will be held virtually on September 15-16, 2021 at 07:00-09:30 Eastern Standard Time). Eight (8) finalists, shortlisted by an international team of judges, will be invited to give 5-minute presentations of their research pitches. Each presentation will include a maximum of 2 slides on the highlights and practical relevance of the research in addressing relevant SDGs. The winner and finalists of mthe pitch competition will receive an award certificate and a cash award.

To participate in the pitch competition, submit your abstract at <u>http://www.iufost.org/abstract-submission-form</u> for IAFoST/-ECSS *Research Pitch Competition*. Submissions should include your university affiliation. Deadline for receipt is **31 July 2021**.

Note that participants must be currently enrolled in a PhD or equivalent program to be eligible. Participants should include a note from their thesis supervisor or Department Head to confirm enrolment in a PhD program. Finalists will be notified by 15 August 2021.

IUFoST/IAFoST -ECSS Administrative Council

George Abong (Kenya) Chibuike Udenigwe (Canada) Elizabeth Arenas (Philippines) Emmanuel Chatzakis (USA) Fatima Miller (Portugal)